The St. Louis County Circuit Court is comprised of twenty-one (21) Circuit Judges, fourteen (14) Associate Circuit Judges and eight (8) Commissioners. Each judge and commissioner is assigned to a specific division, except for the Probate Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.

Click a button below to view Judge/Commissioner by:

Honorable Virginia Lay

Associate Circuit Judge, Division 41


Virginia W. Lay was appointed Associate Circuit Judge on April 1, 2019 by Governor Michael L. Parson.

She received her B.A., with honors in American Studies from Columbia University in 1990
and her law degree from Washington University School of Law in 1993.

From 1993-1997, Judge Lay served as an Assistant Circuit Attorney in St. Louis.
She was an Assistant Prosecutor for Jackson County, Missouri in Kansas City for 1998-1999,
after which she handled civil and criminal cases on behalf of the Attorney General for the
State of Missouri. Judge Lay was in private practice from 2002-2017, handling a diverse
civil defense caseload, including employment and municipal matters. She has served as an
Adjunct Professor at Washington University School of Law, teaching Civil Pretrial through Settlement.
From 2012-2019, Judge Lay served as a Special Assistant Circuit Attorney, handling
white collar cases for the Missouri Division of Employment Security.

Judge Lay serves on the board of Unleashing Potential. She is a member of the
Missouri Bar Association and its Criminal Practice and Procedure Committee, the Bar Association
of Metropolitan St. Louis and the St. Louis County Bar Association.

Judge Lay lives in St. Louis County with her family.

Beginning March 1, 2021, Division 41 will use Webex for all remote hearings.
Webex can be accessed at all phone app stores and at
All remote hearings for Judge Lay/Division 41 shall have the following connection information: ;   Meeting Number: 146 904 4637
Dial in: 1-(408) 418-9388 :: Meeting: 146 904 4637

Courtroom: 281
Floor: 2 North
Mike Thompson
Phone: 314-615-1541
Fax: 314-615-5783

WebEx Meeting Link:

Call in number:  1-408-418-9388  (tolls apply)
Meeting number:  146 904 4637

Check your Network Signal Strength